Scouting

Scout Hand SignI was in the worldwide Boy Scout organization for many years until I was 17 in the United States. Joining with a bunch of other kids my own age (there is a similar Girl Scout organization for females) for camping, meeting, events and learning was great fun and rewarding.

From age six to 12, I was a Cub Scout (motto: DO YOUR BEST). Then, I was a Boy Scout from age 12 to 17 (motto: BE PREPARED). My two sons were also Cub Scouts. To me, it was never about religion (we didn’t do any), it was about camaraderie, having fun and learning to be a good person.

Later in life I was the top leader of the Cub Scouts and very active in all planning and activities for the youth in my community.

Scouts will make the three-fingered Scout Sign when reciting the promise:

The Scout Promise
On my honor I promise that I will do my best—
To do my duty to my leader and my Country and
To obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake,
and morally straight.

The Scout Law
A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

The Scout Association of the People’s Republic of China (中华人民共和国童军总会), founded in 2008 serves Venture Scouts (15 years old to 20) in both genders as well as Rover Scouts (18 years old to 25). The Rover Explorer Service Association operate groups in China.

Leave a comment